Breadcrumbs

EPM Review has compiled a list of events on performance management covering topics such as , balanced scorecard, strategy maps, strategy execution, alignment, measures and metrics and strategic performance management etc… we aim to provide you with a holistic view of the events happening around the globe.

April 15 - 19, 2014   Strategy Leaders Featuring Balanced Scorecard
Mar 3 - 6, 2014   Palladium's Kaplan-Norton Balanced Scorecard Certification Boot Camp ™
Feb 9 - 13, 2014   Palladium's Kaplan-Norton Balanced Scorecard Certification Boot Camp ™
8 - 12 Dec, 2013   Kaplan-Norton Advanced Practitioner Level BSC Boot Camp
15-19 Dec, 2013   Palladium's Kaplan-Norton BSC Certification Boot Camp&trade
25 - 29 June, 2013   Kaplan-Norton Advanced Practitioner Level BSC Boot Camp
17 - 21 June, 2013   Palladium's Kaplan-Norton BSC Certification Boot Camp™
3 - 6 June, 2013   Kaplan-Norton Balanced Scorecard Training
25 - 29 March, 2013   Palladium's Kaplan-Norton BSC Certification Boot Camp™
21 - 25 April, 2013   Palladium's Kaplan-Norton BSC Certification Boot Camp™
March 14, 2012 - 11:00 am EST   Webcast: Getting the most out of your performance management system
16 - 21 March 2013   Balanced Scorecard & Strategy Summit
25 February - 1 March, 2013   Palladium's Kaplan-Norton BSC Certification Boot Camp™
25 - 29 March, 2013   Palladium's Kaplan-Norton BSC Certification Boot Camp™
17 - 21 February, 2013   Palladium's Kaplan-Norton BSC Certification Boot Camp™
14th, 19th, 21st and 26th of February, 2013   "How to Execute your Strategy" training
28 Jan - 1 Feb, 2013   Palladium's Kaplan-Norton BSC Certification Boot Camp™
December 3-7, 2012   Palladium's Kaplan-Norton BSC Certification Boot Camp™
November 18 - 22, 2012   Palladium's Kaplan-Norton BSC Certification Boot Camp™
November 25 - 29, 2012   Palladium's Kaplan-Norton BSC Certification Boot Camp™
October 2012 - January 2013   ShiftIN Learning Solutions, Middle East, 2012 - 2013 | Powered by Corporater
October 17-18, 2012   Corporater is the Platinum Sponsor for Global Summit
October 11, 2012   One Day With Paul Niven On Strategy And Balanced Scorecard
October 8 - 10, 2012   One Day With Paul Niven On Strategy And Balanced Scorecard
October 15-19, 2012   Palladium's Kaplan-Norton BSC Certification Boot Camp™
October 8 - 12, 2012   Palladium's Kaplan-Norton BSC Certification Boot Camp™
September 30 - October 4, 2012   Palladium's Kaplan-Norton BSC Certification Boot Camp™
September 24 - 28, 2012   Palladium's Kaplan-Norton BSC Certification Boot Camp™
September 17 - 21, 2012   Palladium's Kaplan-Norton BSC Certification Boot Camp™
September 10 - 14, 2012   Palladium's Kaplan-Norton BSC Certification Boot Camp™
June 18-22, 2012   Palladium's Kaplan-Norton BSC Certification Boot Camp™
June 18-22, 2012   Palladium's Kaplan-Norton BSC Certification Boot Camp™
June 11 - 15, 2012   Palladium's Kaplan-Norton BSC Certification Boot Camp™
May 27 - 31, 2012   Palladium's Kaplan-Norton BSC Certification Boot Camp™
May 14 - 18, 2012   Palladium's Kaplan-Norton BSC Certification Boot Camp™
May 22, 2012   Corporater User Conference 2012
May 23, 2012   Soria Moria Conference 2012
April 23 - 27, 2012   Palladium's Kaplan-Norton BSC Certification Boot Camp™
March 19-23, 2012   Palladium's Kaplan-Norton BSC Certification Boot Camp™
27 February - 2 March, 2012   Kaplan-Norton Balanced Scorecard Certification Boot Camp™
January 29 - 31, 2012   Corporate Performance Management Conference
January 22 - 26, 2012   Kaplan-Norton Balanced Scorecard Certification Boot Camp™
December 3 - 7, 2011   Balanced Scorecard Forum
November 9 - 10, 2011   Palladium 2011 Americas Summit
October 17 - November 4, 2011   CPA Congress
Strength Through Experience
October 11, 2011   Balanced Scorecard: Measuring, Managing and Improving what Matters
September 19-20, 2011   Mastering Strategy Execution
September 11-13, 2011   Improving Business Analysis and Bottom-line Performance
August 22 - 23, 2011   Balanced Scorecards Colombia
August 17 - 19, 2011   Strategy Execution Summit 2011
August 03, 2011   The Business Process and Performance Management Seminar
July 24-28, 2011   The Balanced Scorecard: Achieving Performance Excellence
July 11-15, 2011   Balanced Scorecard bootcamp
June 30, 2011   Performance Management Conference - Building a culture of continuous improvement
June 7-11, 2011   Structuring Management to drive efficiency
May 20, 2011   Mastering the New Rules in Business Innovation
April 4 - 6, 2011   The Eleventh Annual Government Performance Summit
March 26 - 31, 2011   Balanced Scorecard Forum
March 16, 2011   Building the IT Infrastructure & Operations Balanced Scorecard
March 8th - 10th, 2011   Mission-Driven Performance Summit
February 07, 2011   Performance improvement through innovation and strategy management
January 24, 2011   Balanced Scorecard Boot Camp
January 23-27, 2011   Kaplan-Norton Balanced Scorecard Certification Boot Camp
December 25 - 26, 2010   Presents Certified Performance & Competency Developer
December 18 - 19, 2010   Building 3rd Generation Balanced Scorecards
December 16, 2010   Balanced Scorecard and Management Skills
December 06 - 10,2010   Kaplan-Norton Balanced Scorecard Certification Boot Camp™
December 04,2010   Performance Assessment And Management: The Balanced Scorecard
December 01 - 03,2010   Strategy-Focused Organization through the Implementation of the Balanced Scorecard
October 26 - 28, 2010   CSR and the Sustainability
October 20, 2010   Translating Strategy into Action
October 19 - 20, 2010   Managing with Measures
October 5 -7, 2010   Global Performance Forum VI
September 21 - 22, 2010   Portfolio Management Strategies
September 20, 2010   Norton Breakfast Conference
September 15, 2010   Soria Moria Conference
August 31, 2010   Strategy Focused Enterprise
August 23 - 27, 2010   Kaplan-Norton Balanced Scorecard Certification Boot Camp
August 10 - 11, 2010   Balanced Scorecard Certification Workshop
August 2 - 4, 2010   Introduction to the Balanced Scorecard
July 16, 2010   An introduction to Balanced Scorecard
July 11 - 15, 2010   The Balanced Scorecard: Achieving Performance Excellence - Strategy and Planning
July 1 - 2, 2010   Building 'best practice' Balanced Scorecards
June 29, 2010   Balanced Scorecard Executive Conference
June 16 - 18, 2010   Common Assessment Framework and the Balanced Scorecard
June 2, 2010   Building the HR Scorecard
May 20, 2010   Building the HR Scorecard
April 27, 2010   Strategy Mapping Executive Conference
May 20 - 21, 2010   2GC - Building 'Best Practice' Balanced Scorecards
May 5, 2010        The IT Balanced Scorecard
March 27 - April 1, 2010   Balanced Scorecard Forum 2010
March 14 -18, 2010   Performance Management:Setting and Measuring Objectives
March 2 - 4, 2010   The Mission Driven Performance Management Summit
February 25 - 26, 2010   Balanced Scorecard 101
February 22, 2010   Introduction to the Balanced Scorecard
January 17 - 21, 2010   The Balanced Scorecard: Achieving Performance Excellence - Strategy and Planning
January 19 - 21, 2010   The First International Management Accounting Conference
January 10 - 14, 2010   Balanced Scorecards
December 27 - 31, 2009   Successful Planning, Organizing and Control
December 15, 2009   Balanced Scorecard: Strategy in Action
December 2 - 3, 2009   Developing Strategy using the Balanced Scorecard
November 27, 2009   Strategic Alignment Summit 2009
November 24, 2009   De la estrategia a los resultados - Un enfoque pragmatico del uso de Balanced Scorecard
November 19, 2009   The Road to Rapid Results: How What Gets Measured Gets Done
November 17, 2009   BSC II - Implementing and Using Performance Frameworks to Deliver Results
November 16, 2009   BSC I - Understanding and Designing a State-of-the-Art Performance Framework
November 15 - 19, 2009   Strategic Thinking and Planning
October 6 - 7, 2009   Balanced Scorecard 101
September 29, 2009   Balanced Scorecard Strategy in Action
September 24, 2009   BSC II - Implementing and Using Performance Frameworks to Deliver Results
September 23, 2009   BSC I - Understanding and Designing a State-of-the-Art Performance Framework
September 16 - 17 2009   Palladium's Business Performance Conference
August 25, 2009   Balanced Scorecard Strategy in Action
August 18, 2009   Integrated Measurement and Management: The Key to Performance Excellence
August 5 - 6 2009   Strategy Execution - Measuring, Managing and Integrating Operations
July 28 2009   Strategy Mapping: Pathways to Prosperity - Executive Conference
July 20 - 24 2009   Government Performance Management Week
July 12 - 16, 2009   The Balanced Scorecard: Achieving Performance Excellence
June 23 - 25, 2009   Balanced Scorecard
June 17 - 19, 2009   The Common Assessment Framework and the Balanced Scorecard
June 2 - 4, 2009   2009 Palladium EMEA Summit: Strengthening the Management System to Maximize Performance
May 25, 2009   David Norton - Live & In-Person on The Balanced Scorecard: Executing Strategy for Competitive Advantage
May 24 - 28, 2009   Balanced Scorecard – The A to Z
April 27 - 30, 2009   Global Performance Forum IV – Innovations in Performance Management
April 24 - 25, 2009   Executing Strategy: Balanced Scorecard and Beyond Bali, Indonesia
April 22 - 23, 2009   A Kaplan & Norton Master Class: Mastering the New Management System
April 14 - 17, 2009   PMA 2009 Conference, Dunedin, New Zealand
April 5 - 8, 2009   PMA 2009 - The Sixth International Conference on Theory and Practice in Performance Measurement, Wellington, New Zealand
March 29 - April 2, 2009   Balanced Scorecard Forum 2009 by IRR Holdings - Achieving Stability By Linking Strategy to Operations, JW Marriot Hotel, Dubai, UAE
January 10 - 11, 2009   ASMI (American Strategic Management Institute) Budgeting and Forecasting Masters 2009 Implement and Manage a Balanced Scorecard-Based Budget, San Diego, CA
December 14 – 18, 2008   Balanced Scorecards, Cairo, Egypt
December 11 – 12, 2008   Performance Management Training Forum, Washington, DC
November 19 - 20, 2008   Strategy Execution - Balanced Scorecard Forum, Orlando, FL
November 13 - 14, 2008   Global Performance Forum III - Measures, Metrics & Management Systems, San Diego, CA
November 3 - 6, 2008   Palladium North American Summit, Achieving the Execution Premium: Linking Strategy to Operations, San Diego, CA
October 23, 2008   Balanced Scorecard, Strategy Maps and Strategic Performance Management
September 30- October 2, 2008   CSR Performance 2008 - Planning, Measuring & Demonstrating Performance and Sustainability in the Corporate Responsibility Function, San Diego, CA
September 29 - 30, 2008   Strategy Mapping - A Balanced Scorecard Forum, San Diego, CA
September 22 - 24, 2008   Global Performance Forum SOUTH AMERICA - Measures, Metrics and Management Systems to Improve Organizational Performance and Profitability, Sao Paulo, Brazil
July 30, 2008   Performance Planning: Talent Management Systems and Succession Planning, Audio Web Conference
July 22 - 23, 2008   Conference on Implementing the Balanced Scorecard Management System, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
July 22, 2008   How Strategic CFO’s Can Deliver on CPM - Five Principles of Corporate Performance Management (CPM), Audio Web Conference
July 10, 2008   Balanced Scorecard, Strategy Maps and Strategic Performance Management - An Introduction and Refresher, London, UK
June 26, 2008   Balanced Scorecard, Strategy Maps and Strategic Performance Management, London, UK
June 23 - 24, 2008   Strategy Execution, Washington, D.C.
June 17 - 19, 2008   Palladium European Summit, London, UK
June 2 - 4, 2008   Sustaining Superior Performance Summit - Aligning Process, Technology and Modern Management Theory, Orlando, FL
May 22, 2008   Balanced Scorecard, Strategy Maps and Strategic Performance Management - An Introduction and Refresher, London, UK
May 21, 2008   What's the Score in the Public Sector? Rethinking the way we measure & manage performance, London, UK
May 13 - 14, 2008   Measures & Metrics for Aligning Strategy, Las Vegas, NV
April 29 - May 1, 2008   Global Performance Forum II - Innovations in Performance Management
April 9 - 10, 2008   Strategy Mapping
     
  Executing Strategy with the Balanced Scorecard – A one day step by step course
 
     
  Presenters
Paul R. Niven – Leading Author
Dennis Barnhart – Barnhart Associates Inc.
 
     
  Detailed Agenda  
  09.00 – 11.30 a.m. (with one 15 minute break):  
     
 
  • Factors leading to the prominence of the Balanced Scorecard
  • Balanced Scorecard fundamentals, including the four perspectives of performance
  • Success stories
  • Strategy Maps: Powerful communication tools for effectively describing strategy
  • Strategy Map case study: Attendees will be split into small teams (4 or 5 people each) and develop a Strategy Map for a fictitious company (case study materials will be provided)

 

 
     
  11.30 a.m. – 12.30 p.m : Lunch  
     
  12.30 – 04.00 p.m. (with one 15 minute break):  
     
 
  • Performance measures: A review of measures, including the characteristics of effective measures
  • Measures case study: Using the Maps they developed in the morning session, the groups will re-convene and develop performance measures for the fictitious company
  • Balanced Scorecard implementation essentials: An overview of what it takes to effectively implement the Balanced Scorecard in an organization
 
     
 
     
  The conference is a co-arrangement with Scandinavia’s biggest Performance Management conference –
the Soria Moria 2008 conference
 
     
 
     
08:00   Registration
     
09.00   Opening of the conference by Fabian Stang – Mayor of Oslo
     
09.15   Developing and executing a winning strategy Paul R. Niven, leading author and President of Senalosa group.
     
10.00   Coffee break
     
10.15   Make Strategy every employees business
Heine Kassgaard Bang, Partner, Conmoto
     
11.00   “Four to become one – Implementing Balanced Scorecard in a merger situation” Dennis Barnhart, President, Dennis Barnhart & Associates, Inc.
     
12.00   Lunch
     
13.00   Environmental Scorecards
Phil Jones, Exitant Ltd
     
13.40   Strategic Initiatives – a “must” for a world class performing organization. Dennis Barnhart, President, Dennis Barnhart & Associates, Inc.
     
14.20   Strategy-Centered Management Meetings: Executing your Strategy through learning and discussion Strategy-Centered Management Meetings: Executing your Strategy through learning and discussion
- Paul R. Niven, leading author and President of Senalosa group.
     
15:10   Sightseeing Oslo
     
19.00   EPM Review network dinner – Norwegian Cultural program
     
     
 
     
 
executing-strategy
 

Our first event on Enterprise Performance Management (EPM) was held in the capital of Norway, Oslo on the 22nd and 23rd of April 2008. It was an exciting two-day program.  The first day consisted of presentations given by some of the leading experts in the EPM field. On the second day it was a course given by the leading author Paul Niven and assisted by Dennis Barnhart, president of Barnhart & Associates. The Course “Executing the Strategy with the Balanced Scorecard: Step-by-Step” is based on Niven’s successful series of Step-by-Step” books.

The event was a co-arrangement with Scandinavia’s biggest Performance Management conference – the Soria Moria 2008 Conference.

 

First Day Program

Highlights

  • Developing and executing a winning strategy Paul Niven, leading author and President of Senalosa group
  • Make strategy every employee`s business Heine Kaasgaard Bang, Partner, Conmoto
  • Four to become one-implementing Balanced Scorecard in a merger situation Dennis Barnhart, President, Dennis Barnhart & Associates, Inc.

 

 

Second Day Program

Paul Niven The course Executing Strategy with the Balanced Scorecard: Step-by-Step is based on Paul Niven's successful series of Step-by-Step books. In this workshop Paul Niven will introduce the Balanced Scorecard model in simple and easy to understand terms. 

 

Among the topics Paul will discuss are: 

  • Why the Balanced Scorecard has risen to prominence
  • The tool’s ability to overcome challenges faced by all organizations
  • Balanced Scorecard fundamentals and more…
>> Detailed Agenda >> Detailed Agenda

 

Presentations at the event


Download PDF

     
 

» Newsletter April 2008


 
EPM Review aims to be the preferred online resource for professionals in Performance Management and instigate organizations to come forth in their performance management initiatives. Under the counsel of a good editorial board which comprises of eminent management consultants like Paul Niven, Dennis Barnhart, James Creelman, Andy Neely and others, EPM Review provides you with the resources and tools to strike competition and remain industry leaders.

We hope the information will add tremendous value to your business, regardless of which industry you belong to.

Paul Niven

Paul R. Niven

Leading author and Management consultant

Execution and the Balanced Scorecard
"Execution is a discipline integral to strategy"

In this article, author, management consultant and Balanced Scorecard expert Paul Niven examines the relevance of 'execution' - a term that is very much in vogue on the business landscape - for those involved in strategy implementation and the Balanced Scorecard. the author presents three important arguments. Execution is a discipline integral to strategy, a core element of an organization's culture, and the major job of the business leader. In fact, these are organizational imperatives, argues the author...

» Read more

Spotlight
Creating an adaptive enterprise
 
In this series of interviews recognized experts respond to questions about some of the persistent issues facing leaders, as they seek to create an adaptive enterprise and achieve new levels of performance.
   

Issues covered include the definition of an adaptive enterprise; the strengths and weaknesses of the conventional budgeting process; an examination of the budgeting concept as an annual performance contract; the opinions of finance managers and line managers regarding the budgeting approach; and the effectiveness of budgeting in goal setting, performance evaluation and reward...

» Read more
 
 
News & Events
Executing strategy with the Balanced Scorecard
 
This is our first event on Enterprise Performance Management (EPM). This event will be held in the capital of Norway, Oslo on the 22nd and 23rd of April 2008.

The event is a co-arrangement with Scandinavia's biggest Performance Management conference - the Soria Moria 2008 Conference.

The first day will consist of Presentations given by some of the leading experts in the EPM field. On the second day we will offer a course given by the leading author Paul Niven and assisted by Dennis Barnhart, president of Barnhart & Associates...

» Read more
 
 
How can the HR and other staff functions benefit from the Balanced Scorecard?
 
Staff functions are the responsibility for many of the corporate initiatives selected to deliver an organization's strategic objectives yet these staff functions have limited control over the delivery of strategic initiatives. The Balanced Scorecard is an effective tool to overcome issues associated with strategic management challenges
» Read more
 
Cartoon of the month  
How many of your employees know your business strategy? All too often, strategy remains encased within the realm of management, leaving employees shut out from knowing from the big picture. Rather, strategy should be everyone's job, every day-not an annual, one day, off-site meeting that is quickly forgotten. Regardless what your business strategy is, the real work occurs while executing it.
Templates  
KPI Library
  • Inventory Turnover
  • Inventory Value
  • Employee work centre loading
  » View and Download
Strategy Maps
  • Banking
  • Distribution
 
 
 
Performance Management Templates
  • Human Resources, waste water management
 
     

We welcome your feedback and contributions, please contact us at This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it .

Copyright © 2008, EPM Review.
All rights reserved. Company names and logos used in this site may be trademarks of their respective owners.

Do you have an objective to hit?

Title: Do you have an objective to hit ?

One of my favorite fairy tales from when I was a boy is Winnie-the-Pooh. He was once asked "where should we go?". "I don't know he replied". And then they ended up being there.

I see the same pattern with annual reports. It amazes me how companies with weak/no defined objectives and targets are writing their reports as they have had clear objectives and targets all through the year.

This made me do this cartoon. Companies with no objectives and targets are always reaching their goals. It is like they are "shooting the arrow" and see where it hits and define this as the objective/target.

Is your company shooting first and paint after, or do you have a target and a bulls eye to hit before you shoot?

I will leave it up to self-examination.

Author : Tor Inge Vasshus

Source: http://blog.corporater.com

Explore our resources to learn more about techniques and the value of effectively communicating and executing your strategy.

We don't care what the plan says

Title: We don't care what the plan says

Research indicates that 60% of corporations don’t link resource allocation (budgets) to their Strategic Plan. I am wondering how companies manage to execute strategy when strategic planning and resource allocation processes are not linked. To me it looks like the company is on "auto pilot" and does not respond to new strategic directions very well.

I have been following the work by Kaplan and Norton lately where they talk about a specific resource allocation category – namely Stratex – Strategy Expenditures.  Strategy Expenditures are resources allocated to “move your company towards your strategic goals”. This is an investment program that you do in order to successfully implement your strategy. By naming Stratex you know that these are funds that are not connected to your day to day business, but it is specifically connected to fulfilling your strategy.

I challenge companies that I meet to do one exercise – connect their projects to strategic objectives. In doing this they can see how their projects fits with the strategy.

If you work in the finance department with budgets and money – come down from your money mountain and start engaging in Strategy Execution.

Author : Tor Inge Vasshus

Source: http://blog.corporater.com

Explore our resources to learn more about techniques and the value of effectively communicating and executing your strategy.

Every person's vision bucket leaks!

Title: Every person's vision bucket leaks!

I attended last year’s Global Leadership Summit. It was a great conference which gave me a lot of insights into management which can be practiced in my own company.

Bill Hybel lead a session called “From here to there". This session was actually what strategy is all about - taking a company from its current destination to a new destination over a given period of time. Bill said that the most critical part of that journey was not at the start - what he called "here" (starting point) nor was it the “there" point (strategic destination) but it was the journey between "here" and "there". That specific period is the most vulnerable and critical part of the journey. He gave this great piece of advice for practice during this vital part of the journey.

"Every person's vision bucket leaks!" He underlined that it was important for the management to anticipate how the vision bucket can leak. Managers need to fill the vision bucket during this journey. Not once, but over and over again! This has to be done in order to keep up the faith and reach the strategic destination successfully.

I am happy if the people in my organization tell me, "our vision level is at a low level, please call for strategy meetings and refill our buckets". If you don't have these kind of sensors in your organization to warn you when to fill the vision bucket, then you better call for a new strategy meeting and paint the organization's vision as a clear picture for everyone's benefit.

Author : Tor Inge Vasshus

Source: http://blog.corporater.com

Explore our resources to learn more about techniques and the value of effectively communicating and executing your strategy.

Milestone party!

 

Title: Milestone party!

I don't know if you have tried to run on a treadmill. It can be quite scary. There are Youtube video's that demonstrate how not to do it. But that is not my point. Let's say you are asked to run a half marathon on the treadmill. 21 kilometers is a long distance you might say, and it is for me too. I am an old runner, and the way I managed to psyche myself to run those 21 kilometers was not by focusing on the remaining distance. I celebrated each kilometer that I passed. Once I got to the 16th kilometer I started hearing people cheering me and this encouragement in the form of applause carried me through the last 5 kilometers to the finishing point.

The same applies to businesses. Big Hairy Audacious Goals (BHAG) are not achievable without splitting them up into minor goals and setting milestones along the journey. Believe me, you need a lot of milestones in your journey. These milestones will help your organization to verify if you are actually moving towards the target. Milestones are also important to keep up your faith and motivate yourself to continue. Here comes the best advice of all – party and celebrate each milestone achievement! This will help you to not only keep the faith up, but also heighten the sprit within your organization. Come on, let's party more!!!

Author : Tor Inge Vasshus

Source: http://blog.corporater.com

Explore our resources to learn more about techniques and the value of effectively communicating and executing your strategy.

Data, data everywhere!?

Title: Data, data everywhere!?

I was recently in Sweden speaking at a Business Intelligence conference. All the BI software vendors were lined up at the exhibition, and nice dashboards were shown. Most of the presenters looked at data as the "holy grail" and claimed that "the knowledge and power is in the data".

As a Strategy Execution advocate I gave a different speech. I was afraid that they would start stoning me when I referred to Jim Collins's book "From good to great". When Jim Collins researched what made companies, "World Class companies” he found something very interesting:

"We found no evidence that good-to-great companies had more or better information than the comparison companies. None."

When I presented this statement I was glad that I had a body guard with me to protect me! I explained the difference between Strategic Performance Management and Business Intelligence.

  Strategy Execution Software Business Intelligence/ Data warehouse
Over all goal Implement strategy Take better decisions
Method Descriptive/ text – establish goals and targets Data driven – discover interrelationships in the data
Focus Future. Focus on reaching a strategic destination Historical data can explain current performance and predict future
Approach Action oriented Analytic oriented
Output Strategic Journey - from «here» to «there» Report oriented
Key stakeholders Business and management Business order and IT execute
Structure Not fully structured. There are always deviations when describing reality. Data is structured for analysis
Business logic Easily available in a business configurator tool. Programmed/ configured in the Data warehouse

So, I concluded the presentation with the following :

  • BI tools are not built for Strategic Performance Management. You can try to get a BI tool to help you with your Strategy Execution Process, but it will be an expensive experiment and you will most likely fail
  • A specialized tool for Strategic Performance Management is a necessity if you want to work with Strategy Execution in medium or large organizations
  • A Strategic Performance Management Suite can add to the benefits of a well working BI platform.
  • BI tools can be valuable, but they are cannot help you execute your strategy

Author : Tor Inge Vasshus

Source: http://blog.corporater.com

Explore our resources to learn more about techniques and the value of effectively communicating and executing your strategy.

Page 9 of 18